The Ballad of a Small Player Book Review

balladThis book is a fascinating look into the mind of a chronic gambler. The life that started out as a gamble and continues in that vein forever. I am not sure whether I was getting a glimpse into mental illness or aging or chronic addiction, but this book was wonderful. I felt transported into another place, devoid of the rationality of other well functioning people. I found that I couldn’t simply put this book down until I was done reading it. It simply took me elsewhere. Being snowed in, that was a great thing. I could identify with both the main characters of the book. This book didn’t put a pretty spin on things, but a real one. I loved it from front to back cover. Even the pages were really neat, cut to different widths and gave a feel of disorder to the book.

The author has written several other books and is great a short stories that have appeared in a lot of different publications all over the place. His name is Lawrence Osborne.

You can get a copy today from amazon at:
http://www.amazon.com/Ballad-Small-Player-Novel/dp/0804137994/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1425058498&sr=1-1&keywords=ballad+of+a+small+player

I received this book from Blogging for Books for the purpose of reiew

About lindasue1979

I am studying to be a psychologist in the hopes of becoming a therapist treating PTSD patients as an alternative to pharmaceuticals. I am also a sufferer of PTSD and Generalized Anxiety. But most of all, I am Mom to be amazing nephew. I love life and all things in it. Love to try new products and loveeeeeeeeee to give my opinion, even when not asked!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Categories

