Depression has been deadly and has been serious!

This society is so twisted. People have been suffering severe depression and worse since the dawn of time, but our society waits until a famous actor/comedian is found dead and then everyone jumps on the depression is serious bandwagon. Well, guess what? It didn’t take an actor dying for me to know that. It took my mother dying, effectively killing herself by continuing meds and not eating, for me to know it is serious. I have had friends, and myself included, drowning in misery and no one listened, or cared, or went on facebook and cried to the masses that depression is real and serious. I know that everyone has seen it or felt it. People always think that just getting up and doing things will keep depression away, or that if they admit that they are having trouble then people will think they are “crazy”. Vets scared to admit that they need help because of the labels that society places on them, but hey Robin Williams killed himself because he was depressed, so lets all jump on the help those depressed bandwagon and tell everyone to get help! Not that I am not thankful that at least this has brought some attention to this overwhelming problem, but I know that while he himself wont be forgotten, in a few months depression will go right back into the closet and hidden again until someone else famous is suffering. Well, frankly, to me it sucks. I am in school for psychology, I hope to one day be able to offer to vets at least, an opportunity to receive a non-medication based alternative to suffering silently. Until then, if you need me, anytime, anyplace, I am here! Don’t suffer alone or in silence, it doesn’t have to be that way. Seek help, seek support. And most of all don’t forget that people are suffering. So when your friends calls you at 3 am and needs to talk, don’t automatically assume that its because they just want to bug you. When someone says can I come see you, don’t automatically assume that they are doing it because they want something from you, sometimes people just NEED support! That doesn’t cost you a dime.

About lindasue1979

I am studying to be a psychologist in the hopes of becoming a therapist treating PTSD patients as an alternative to pharmaceuticals. I am also a sufferer of PTSD and Generalized Anxiety. But most of all, I am Mom to be amazing nephew. I love life and all things in it. Love to try new products and loveeeeeeeeee to give my opinion, even when not asked!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Categories

